- October 18th, 2016 - Carlu Hotel, Toronto, Ontario


- The Canada-India Business Council hosted its annual "Diwali Gala" with the aim of bringing together the Canadian business community to celebrate the Canada-India relationship.


- Over 300 senior business and government leaders attended the event.


- The Gala aimed to recognize achievements in the cultivation of bi-lateral trade and humanitarian efforts through our awards ceremony.  



Click Here for the Photo Gallery


Event Report

13th Annual Diwali Gala: A Great Success

The Canada-India Business Council successfully hosted the “13th Annual Diwali Gala” on October 18th, 2016 at the Carlu Hotel in Toronto.

Keynote Speaker


Mr. Michael Sabia the President & CEO of Caisse de dépôt et placement du Québec spoke about the the immense potential for collaboration between India and Canada.

Government Speaker


Hon. Deb Matthews, Minister of Advanced Education and Skills Development provided insight on Ontaro's growing interest and involvement in the Indian market.


Additional Speaker

Mr. Ravi Sinha, Dean of IIT Mumbai, discussed the current Canada-India education landscape and the two countries' growing ties in this sector.

Show More

Mr. Michael Sabia, President & CEO

Caisse de dépôt et placement du Québec

Mr. Ravi Sinha, Dean, IIT Mumbai

Hon. Deb Matthews, Minister of Advanced Education and Skills Development

Awards Ceremony


The Council annual Diwali Gala Awards Ceremony aims to recognize Canadian companies who have made significant impact on Canada-India relations through endeavors in the areas of business, humanitarianism and support of the Council. 

Award: C-IBC Member of the Year 

Winner: Air Canada

Presented by C-IBC President & CEO, Mr. Gary Comerford, the C-IBC Member of the Year Award recognizes the member of the Council who has provided tremendous support towards the Council's activities which aim to promote bilateral trade between Canada and India.

Air Canada was the recipient of the award for 2016. The award was accepted by Air Canada's Director of Business Development, Ms. Bambina Marcello. 


Award: Hon. Roy MacLaren P.C. Humanitarian of the Year

Winner: World Literacy Canada

Presented by and named in the honour of former C-IBC Chairman, Hon. Roy MacLaren P.C, the Humanitarian of the Year Award recognizes an individual or organization whose work contributed greatly to improving the lives of the poor in India and around the world.

World Literacy Canada (WLC) was the recipient of the award for 2016. This year's award was accepted by WLC's Executive Director, Ms. Jasmine Gill.

Award: The Thomas Bata

Winner: Bombardier Inc. 

Presented by C-IBC Chairman, Mr. Yezdi Pavri, and named after the Council's late founder, the Thomas Bata Award recognizes the Canadian company whose business ventures have had the greatest financial impact in 2016 and embody the pinnacle of Canada-India business relations.

Bombardier Inc. was the recipient of the award for 2016. This year's award was accepted by Vice President, Government Affairs, Mr. Pierre Sein Pyun.


National Office

80 Richmond Street West, Suite 604

Toronto, Ontario M5H 2A4

+1 (416) 214-5947



  • Facebook - White Circle
  • LinkedIn - White Circle
  • Twitter - White Circle

© 2018 by Canada-India Business Council.